Dr. Murugaiyan Amirthalingam, postdoctoral researcher, working in the FOM-M2i IPP programme “Physics of Failure” and Dr. E.M. van der Aa of Tata Steel, IJmuiden together received a prestigious “Kenneth Easterling” best paper award for presenting a paper in “11th International Seminary on Numerical Analysis of Weldability”, held on 28 to 30th September, 2015 in Graz, Austria.

The awarded paper, “Improved resistance spot weldability of 3rd generation AHSS for automotive applications” authored by E.M. van der Aa, M. Amirthalingam, J. Winter, D.N. Hanlon, M.J.M. Hermans, M. Rijnders and I.M. Richardson is valued by an international committee as the best contribution made over the three years proceeding on the advancement of knowledge or practice in respect of mathematical modelling of weld phenomena”.

This award is presented once in three years by the International Institute of Welding (IIW) and organising committee of the “International Seminar Numerical Analysis of Weldability”.


Kenneth Easterling Award

From left to right: Prof. H. Cerjak, Prof. P. Mayr, Dr. M. Amirthalingam, Dipl-Ing. A. Becirovic (Fronius-sponsor of the Prize), Prof. C. Sommitsch, Dr. E. van der Aa, Prof. N. Enzinger